miscellany…a birthday, a fall, a speck, and the power of the i…

great birthday celebration with my hub last week!  a day late though.  post cast removal.  (he was not feeling up to celebrating his b-day with an encapsulated leg.)

he is loving life again now that the cast is gone!  yay!  and is looking quite the gentleman with his new cane.  and a removable black boot.  which will remain on for four weeks – and then he’ll start PT.

so last night, we had a small St. Patty’s day shin-dig at our place.  fun!

first time in a long time since we have entertained, which we used to do all the time.  then last year happened.  and is still happening.  yesterday…tried to avoid my normal level of stressing before our peeps arrived.  I succeeded.  yehaaw!

but, MS seems to nosing his face in my business.  again.  still.  with a few new things.  annoying!  frustrating.

a.  all my joints were aching yesterday.  today – same.

b. then, this is where it got interesting.  when the hub and I started playing a practice round of Phase-10 (card game – love it!) before our peeps arrived, I was hit with a strong wave of vertigo.  actually the most scary one I have experienced.  this one felt like someone had knocked my chair backwards, and I was falling, falling.  think Alfred Hitchcock cinematography.  and fast.  my eyes went blurry as I was falling.  my head tilted back.  I grabbed onto the table to stop the fall.  but I wasn’t falling.  my brain was.  yikes.  it lasted about five seconds.  and then cleared up.  hub was immediately concerned.  this is going on the symptom list to review with my neuro.  normally I experience vertigo when I’m walking down long corridors.  this was way new.

and finally, c.  which is really not that interesting at all.  I have a new floater in my left eye.  yesterday, I kept seeing something in my left peripheral vision.  and sure enough…I saw the black speck this morning.  no biggie.  just distracting more than anything.

oh, and let’s not forget d.  my ring finger and pinkie on my left hard are super stiff and not that easy to control.

on the knowledge front…

the shoulder pain and left arm pain…down to my fingers…has intensified since MS joined the party.  I have had the shoulder pain since 2006, but turns out – now it has likely turned into spasticity (constant muscle contraction) that has crept down my arm to my fingers.  not sure if there’s anything I’ll be able to do about that.  other than open shoulder yoga poses.  will monitor and speak to the neuro.  my therapist believes that MS likes to attack areas that are already sensitive.  huh.

finally, on the optimistic front… 🙂

and on a totally different topic!  I’m reading the most interesting book at the moment!  Quiet:  The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, by Susan Cain.

(yes, I still owe you peeps a report on the Happiness Advantage…just distracted by Quiet right now!)

this book is fascinating!  I have always known I was am an introvert.

labeled as shy while a child.  like there was something wrong with me.  still labeled that as an adult.  ha!  like many other quiet, contemplative kiddos.  and adults.

the author discusses how being quiet became a personality flaw in the 1920s.  that was 50% of the population they were talking about!

sidebar>>there is a difference between being shy and being an introvert!  you can still be shy and also an extravert!

this ideology coincided with the industrial revolution.  instead of focusing on good character traits – honesty, integrity, being kind to others…we now need to raise our kids to sell, sell, sell, talk, talk!  thanks to Mr. Dale Carnegie!  so that 50% of the population began to be grossly overlooked.  and still is.  oddly enough, that was shortly before personality meds began to hit the market to eliminate the quietness.  because there was something wrong with those quiet types!  crazy!

this book takes back the power of the introvert.  explaining why introverts are critical to business and the arts.  how an introverted leader can often get more out of their staff than an extraverted leader – because we are quietly encouraging and often gentle.  thoughtful.  always thinking and observing what’s happening around us.  proactive.

why us introverts like to connect to God on a personal level.  without all the pageantry, community, and interaction during a weekly church service.

we take our time before speaking.  we are often writers.  also, we don’t like a lot of stimulation.  we work well independently.  our voices are softer than extroverts – hence, why we get overlooked.  no one hears us!  ha!

loving it!  it all makes so much more sense.  and why I do not have a problem writing about my MS journey.  as opposed to talking about it.  so there you go.  here’s a youtube clip from the author speaking to Google management.  lots of Is in this group!

are you and I or an E?  would love to hear your thoughts on the topic!

note>>if you’re not sure – easy way to tell:  after attending a party, are you exhausted (I) or energized (E)?  you can also take an easy personality type indicator test here…I am an INFJ – heavy on the N and F.  low on the J.  sometimes a very low E – like 1%!  but most often an I, which is okay by me.  😉

Jung personality type test

xo

Leave a Reply

