24/50: Jillie’s vertigo and visual hallucination episode. this needs more detail!

“I have had a couple of bouts of vertigo over the last two days,” I said to my boss after organizing my buzzing legs into a professional crossed position.

He leans back in his chair, with an exasperated sigh, and rubs his forehead.  Great, I think to myself, I’m giving him my migraines.

“Look Jillian, do you need to go see your doctor again?”  He asked, emphasizing again, a little too much for my liking.

“I don’t think so, I thought I was over the vertigo!  I’m sure it will go away.  But just wanted to warn you should I crash into anyone in the office!”  I replied plastering a smile on my face.

“Okay, well, take it easy, if you need to go home early, just let me know,” he concluded the meeting.

Geesh, I think to myself as I ease myself out of his office, praying that I’m walking straight.  Compared to Thursday morning, when I walked into the line of bushes that encircle the office, I seem to be doing much better today.  I have always walked a little wonky…but this go around was different.  I shushed my inner voice that was telling me that the Beast was working his magic.  Again.

Later I sat down for a quick meeting with two of my direct reports, and the wall in my office twisted into a spiral.  Right in front of me.  I watch as the flowers on a calendar swirl together and then slowly right themselves.

One of my guys, Rob, who is very familiar with what’s been going on with me stopped discussing the latest order numbers, and asked, “are you okay?”

“Yes, I’m fine, thanks.  Can you tell me again what we can expect?” I replied too quickly, returning to my management duties, relieved that was a short episode.  After they leave my office, I do a quick google search for, vertigo, MS symptom.  Yes, it’s still on the list according to the MS Society.  D*mn, I mutter to myself.

~

After I arrive home from work, I grab the door frame in my bedroom as the walls begin to bend.  I look up to see if any of the lights in my room are swinging.  Turns out my brain is the only thing swinging.

Fabulous, I say to myself, and head out to the kitchen, grabbing a wine glass from the bar as I walk by.

Leave a Reply

