43/50: Western Rock Medical Center.

thanks everyone for following along!  you have no idea how your Likes and Follows make me smile and warm my heart!!  so thank you!  here is the last post of the weekend.  in the homestretch now.  seven posts to go, less one (already drafted).  whooeee…what fun this experiment has been!!

~~~

“You’ll like him, he’s got a proper job.”  Jillie replied.

“What is that supposed to mean?” I said, instantly annoyed that she would throw that back in my face.

“Kidding, honey, kidding.  You need to stop taking everything I say so seriously,” she chided me.

“Right, right.  I would if I didn’t think that there’s an ounce of truth in everything you say to me, you know that, so go easy on me, will ya?”  I shot her a half a smile.  “How old is he?  He better not be in his 50s like that last guy.”

“He’s hot and cool.  I just hope he takes my insurance,”

“I hope so too.  You didn’t answer my question.”

“I don’t know, he’s a guy and he’s cute, why are you so hung up on age?”

“Because if he’s too old, that means he’s had more years to strap on the baggage.”

“Or more years to work through the crap.”

“Fine, where do I turn in?” I snapped as we approach the medical building, unclear why I am so on edge today.

I pull into the Western Rock Medical Center parking lot, bottoming out as the front end of the Civic scrapes against the driveway.

“Sorry about that,” I say.

“No worries, it’s not like I haven’t done that.  This car likes to find pavement.”

I park the car about a half mile from the entrance in the only available parking spot, and shudder before we get out of the car.  I hate hospitals.  Ever since my Grandma was reconciled to spend the last six weeks of her life in an antiseptic hospital room.  She would cry and gasp in the middle of my visits, reaching out to only what she could see in her mind.  I asked the nurses if she did this frequently.  The gentle Filipono nurse would only shake her head, no.  “Only for you, Ni,” she would say.  I would clasp Grandma’s cold, veiny hands in mine, and let her know she was getting closer, just keep climbing, God is waiting for you, I would whisper.  I would have done anything to expedite her transition.  She passed alone in her room one Friday morning.  Friday was her favorite day of the week.  I guess it’s true what they say, one enters and leaves this life alone.  I shook off my goosebumps, and returned to the present.

“You back, Annie,” asked Jillie, as she tipped her head to the right like she always did when she was trying to work things out.

“Uh huh, I just hate hospitals,” I said.

“I love ‘em, free food, constant care, and when you have your own room, all the TV you want to watch, and sponge baths by the hot male nurses,” she replied grabbing my arm and started to skip towards to the automatic door to to the waiting room, under the looming sign, Western Rock Medical Center, a Nice Place to Be.  I force myself to skip along with her, but I can’t shake this black cloud that rolled in after we left her place.

~~~

struggled a bit with this piece.  wanted it to be fun, but it just wasn’t coming out that way.  maybe I was in a bad-ish mood this morning while working on this, which rubbed off on Annie!  not much is going on either.  other than Annie knows something is afoot with Jillie.  not a fun piece to write for several reasons.

xo

Leave a Reply

